The Insurance Family Blog

Stay Safe & Legal On The Roads With Adequate Auto Insurance

Posted by Scherff Scherff on July 13, 2011 at 9:30 AM

Stay Safe & Legal On The Roads This Summer With Adequate Auto InsuranceDid you know that being a Californian on the open road today comes with a lot of inherent risks? Perhaps you are aware of the obvious risks but there are other risks most people don’t ever think about. In the year 2009 alone, motor vehicle fatalities in California totaled 3,081. Not to forget the severe injuries and permanent damage suffered by tens of thousands of people every year.

You could also end up in a nasty situation if you break any one of the California state highway safety laws, or are found not to have adequate insurance after an accident or when stopped by law enforcement. This summer, Sutherland-Scherff wishes you safe driving on our roads, so make sure to take note of the following points to ensure you are compliant with state laws.

State Laws Mandate Insurance Liability Coverage

In California, state laws ensure that in order to own and operate a vehicle, drivers must follow minimum financial responsibility laws by carrying at least the statutory minimum limits of liability insurance, which are $15,000 for the death or injury of any one person in any one accident, or $30,000 for all persons in any one accident, and $5,000 in property damage for any one accident. In this state, you can cover this liability and establish financial responsibility by

A) securing coverage by a motor vehicle or automobile insurance company, or

B) by making a cash deposit of $35,000 with the DMV

Obviously in this case, taking out auto insurance is a more sensible option this summer.

Seatbelts and BAC Tests Are Mandatory

When you have your financial liability insurance covered, make sure to familiarize yourself with California state highway laws. First, the law requires that drivers and all passengers must use a safety restraint system while traveling in a motor vehicle. Second, driving with open containers of alcohol is not permitted, and you will be subject to blood alcohol content (BAC) testing should you be the driver of a car involved in an accident. In California, the BAC limit is 0.08%, and any driver caught with this BAC level or more will be immediately charged with a DUI (Driving under the influence).

It is in all Californians best interest to comply with these laws, but if you have any questions or are interested to learn more about California auto insurance, please do not hesitate to contact Sutherland-Scherff today.

Topics: Auto Insurance